Fun Cars Birthday Cake Design

by Amy J
(Florida)

Lightning McQueen & Mater Cruising Cake Pic 1

Lightning McQueen & Mater Cruising Cake Pic 1

Lightning McQueen & Mater Cruising Cake Pic 2

Lightning McQueen & Mater Cruising Cake Pic 2

Lightning McQueen & Mater Cruising Cake Pic 1 Lightning McQueen & Mater Cruising Cake Pic 2

This cake was made for a friend’s son’s 2nd birthday party. She wanted a “Car’s” cake but didn’t want to go broke doing so. I offered to make her the cake and this way we were able to customize what she wanted for her son vs. what the store would have given her.

We drew out a few different ideas before agreeing on this one. The cake is a regular butter flavored cake and I used a 10×15 sheet cake to make it. I used a homemade buttercream icing and colored it for the different colors.

I went online and printed the signs and attached them to cardboard to make them sturdy and inserted the little postcard with toothpicks taped to the back. The cactuses are from Michaels that I painted and used a fine tip sharpie to make the “spikes”. The rest of the decorations are all done in piping.

The whole cake is covered in only icing as I have not become brave enough to try fondant. Maybe one cake soon I’ll give it a shot.

The cake was a HUGE hit not only with the birthday boy but with the rest of the guests. I actually got a few requests to make cakes for upcoming parties afterwards. Everyone was in disbelief that I actually made it – they all thought my girlfriend bought it and paid through the nose for it.

I make my kid’s cakes every year and even though this was not for one of my kids, it still is one of my favorites that I ever made!

Leave a Reply

