Safari Wedding Cake Decorating

by Marisa Leon
(France)

picture of safari wedding cake

picture of safari wedding cake


1. Where the idea came from?

When my sister told me that she was going to get married, I wasn’t surprised because she has been dating her boyfriend for couple of years and it was about time to get married. But when she told me that she was planning her wedding to be safari themed, well I have to admit that I was little surprised. She asked me to make her Safari Wedding Cake as she knew that I was pretty skilled to create cakes of different designs and unusual shapes.

At first, I didn’t have any idea how that cake should look like. I asked myself what would be the perfect shape, what would be the ideal design, how it should taste. Many other questions were coming to my mind. Then, I searched the Internet a little bit, and to my great surprise, I discovered many interesting ideas. The idea, which I liked the most, was that this Safari Wedding Cake should have three tiers and each tier should have different wild animal design.

2. What was the occasion?

So, I made this Safari Wedding Cake for my sister’s wedding which held last November. She adores Africa and several times she went on safari with her boyfriend so this cake design was perfect for both of them. I spent a lot of time making it but the guests were astonished with my creation. At the wedding all the guests were commenting how beautiful the cake was. They also kept saying that the cake was very delicious and most of them asked me if I could make them a cake for some special occasions. I accepted with pleasure because creating unique and distinctive cakes is my hobby and is something that I do with lot of love and pleasure.

3. Recipe-how it tasted

The Safari Wedding Cake is three tiers cake. Each cake is made of different ingredients.

Ingredients for the bottom cake:

8 egg yolks
16 tablespoons sugar
8 tablespoons ground walnuts
8 tablespoons ground biscuits
1 tablespoon flour

Ingredients for the cream:

1 l milk
12 tablespoons sugar
13 tablespoons flour
16 egg yolks
400 grams butter
300 grams chopped walnuts
300 grams chopped biscuits
300 grams chopped chocolate

Ingredients for the middle cake:

4 egg whites
4 tablespoons sugar
8 tablespoons ground walnuts
2 tablespoons flour

Ingredients for the second cream:

3 egg yolks
150 grams sugar
0,5 l milk
150 grams vanilla pudding
250 grams butter
250 grams powdered sugar
50 grams chocolate

Ingredients for the upper cake:

3 eggs
3 tablespoons sugar
3 tablespoons flour
3 tablespoons ground walnuts
Baking powder

Ingredients for the third cream:

250 grams butter
250 grams powdered sugar
300 grams ground biscuits
0,4 dl orange juice
300 grams ground walnuts
1 cup hot milk
200 grams chocolate

Directions for the first cake:

1. Beat egg whites with sugar.
2. Add ground walnuts, ground biscuits and flour and mix all well until combined.
3. Pour the mixture into the prepared 12″ round pan and baked it on 375?F for about 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the layer comes out clean.
4. Set aside to cool.
5. Bake two layers.

Direction for the first cream:

1. Cook milk and sugar, flour and egg yolks until thicken.
2. When thicken, cool completely.
3. When cooled, add butter, chopped walnuts, chopped biscuits and chopped chocolate.
4. Mix all well.

Directions for the second layer:

1. Beat egg whites with sugar.
2. Add walnuts and flour.
3. Pour into the prepared 10″ round pan and bake in the preheated oven for about 25 minutes.
4. When baked cool completely.
5. Bake two layers.

Directions for the second cream:

1. Cook on steam egg yolks with sugar.
2. Cook milk, pudding and sugar.
3. Beat butter and powdered sugar and add it into the cooled pudding.
4. Mix egg yolks and pudding.
5. Add melted chocolate and mix all well.

Directions for the third cake:

1. Beat egg whites with sugar, and add egg yolks.
2. Add baking powder, ground walnuts and flour.
3. Beat all well, pour into the prepared 8″ round pan and bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.
4. Bake two layers.

Directions for the third cream

1. Beat butter and powdered sugar.
2. Mix ground biscuits with orange juice.
3. Mix ground walnuts with hot milk.
4. Mix all together and add melted chocolate.

4. Decorating tips

When all the layers and all the creams were cooled completely I started with the decorating the cake. First, I placed the biggest layer on the plate and greased it with the first cream. Then I placed the second biggest layer and greased it also with the first cream. I covered it with light brown fondant and painted the leopard pattern. Around the bottom of this cake I put the black and white stripe made of black and white fondant. On top of this cake I placed the smaller layer, greased it with the second cream, then placed the second smaller layer and again greased it with the second cream. Then, I covered it with brown fondant.

The bottom of this cake I edged with brown fondant stripe. At the end I placed the smallest layer, greased it with the third cream, placed another smallest layer and greased it with the cream as well. This cake I covered with white fondant and made the zebra pattern out of black fondant and glued it on the white fondant. The bottom of this cake I edged with the white fondant stripe on which I painted black dots with food color using paint brush. On top of the cake I put two links which I made out of white fondant. These links represented their love strength and mutual connection.

Leave a Reply

