Baby Shower Cake for Boy

by Andrea Stoneberg
(Nampa, ID)

Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 1

Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 1

Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 2

Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 2

Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 3

Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 3

Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 4

Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 4

Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 1 Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 2 Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 3 Baby Shower Cake for Boy Picture 4

I am new to making cakes. This is actually only my second fondant cake I have ever done.

I wanted to make a cake that looked realistic and surprise my friend for her baby shower. The bottom cake is made from a 10″ round pan.

I made two cakes, each with almost 2 cake batters, totalling 4 cakes. I secured them together with buttercream frosting, then covered the outside in frosting as well before applying the fondant and smoothing it down.

I then applied the poka dots with a little bit of water as well as the “Oh Boy” that I had used cookie cutters to cut out. For the bow I used gum paste and allowed it to dry over night.

The baby “bum” was made from a small round pan that I over filled so it would bubble up and create a round look. After it cooled I carved the bum to be as round as I wanted it. The feet and the legs were made 3 days prior to me assembling the cake so that they would dry a little first.

They were made from fondant. To make the feet appear more realistic I added a little pink dust to the bottoms. I placed wood dowels in the cake before placing the baby “bum” on it so that it would be secured.

I also used wood dowels to assemble the feet to the legs. Finally I mixed green and blue fondant together to creat the blanket and secured it in place with the frilly look with water.🙂

Leave a Reply

