Boy’s 1st Birthday Cake

by Lisa
(Altoona, PA USA)

Boy's 1st Birthday Cake Picture 1

Boy’s 1st Birthday Cake Picture 1

Boy's 1st Birthday Cake Picture 2

Boy’s 1st Birthday Cake Picture 2

Boy's 1st Birthday Cake Picture 3

Boy’s 1st Birthday Cake Picture 3

Boy's 1st Birthday Cake Picture 4

Boy’s 1st Birthday Cake Picture 4

Boy's 1st Birthday Cake Picture 1 Boy's 1st Birthday Cake Picture 2 Boy's 1st Birthday Cake Picture 3 Boy's 1st Birthday Cake Picture 4

Hello Everyone,

I am fairly new to cake baking/decorating. I started about 5 years ago making cookie bouquets and decided to challenge myself with cakes! I just sort of ‘fell into it’ and absolutely LOVE it!!!!

This particular cake was made for my great nephew’s 1st birthday party. The color scheme was Turquoise, Aqua and giraffe brown. My niece wanted all white cake so I used the WASC recipe which NEVER fails me with a whipped buttercream frosting. Each tier consisted of about 4-5 layers (rainbow style where I alternated Turquoise, Aqua, etc.) and covered in Fondant with Fondant and gumpaste decorations.

The most exciting part of the tiered cake was creating my first pair of Converse sneakers! Not too bad for a first time.

The giraffe cake was his smash cake and again was WASC, buttercream and it was swirled with the Turquoise/Aqua combo. Covered in Fondant with Fondant decorations…..

I try to make everything edible – not always possible, but makes it much more challenging for me. I have really only scratched the surface with this cake decorating and each time I’ve asked to do one, I try to get at least one new technique in there!

Any questions, feel free to contact me. I also have all of my other cakes/cookies on my Facebook page……

Thanks for looking!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

