Fun 30th Birthday Cake Design

by Nataly Levinska
(Moskow)

Simple Birthday Cake Picture

Simple Birthday Cake Picture

1. Where the idea came from?

Birthday cakes for adults should not be the same as for the kid’s birthday parties but it doesn’t mean that they are boring and ugly. When making cakes for adult’s birthday parties I always take into consideration the flavor and the decoration.

The ideas for different birthday designs I get out of my imagination thus creating cakes that become the centerpieces of the birthday parties. Since I am very creative person I can create many different designs in my head and make lovely cakes.

While decorating birthday cakes for adults I always take care that they reflect the celebrants’ nature and personality. If the celebrant is vibrant and full of life, I usually make birthday cake with lot of bright colors and decorations but if the celebrant is silent and contemplating person as my sister is, then I make birthday cake with light decorations using white as preferred color.

2. What was the occasion?

I made this lovely adult birthday cake for my sister’s 30th birthday party. She wanted sophisticated and elegant birthday party. She decorated her house with lot of white roses and white balloons. That’s why I made her this lovely white adult birthday cake to go along with her style and her birthday theme. She invited many people, her friends, our relatives, and her colleges from work.

I could see how proud she was to have this beautiful cake and the expressions on the faces of the guests told me that they were really amazed how the birthday cake looked. Most of them asked her where she bought the cake. When my sister told them that I was responsible for the cake, they were even more thrilled. I was very happy because I managed to make the cake everyone on the party loved.

Furthermore, they congratulated me for its delicious flavor. I also think that apart from the appearance, which is very important for the birthday party, the taste of the cake is significant too. And when you make wonderful looking and delicious cake at the same time then your party is a big success and it will be memorable event which will be talked about for a long time.

3. Decorating tips

When the layers were baked and cooled, and the frosting prepared I began decorating the cake. First I placed the bigger layer on the cake plate. Then, I greased it with the first frosting, then I placed another bigger layer and again I greased it with the frosting.

After that I placed smaller layer and spread the second frosting on the layer and put another smaller layer and again I spread frosting on it. Then I covered the whole cake with white fondant in order to look elegant and sophisticated just the way my sister wanted her cake to be.

Around the bottom of the cake I put little white dots which I made out of white icing using icing bag. On the top of the cake I wrote my sister’s name and wrote her age with icing which I colored in blue as my sister’s favorite color is blue. To write letters and numbers I used icing bag too.

Around the cake I put plastic sticks as decoration which I bought in cake store. I was very proud of my cake. It didn’t take my too much time to make it and it looked perfect. I hope that you enjoyed reading my directions how to make this adult birthday cake and I am sure that you will succeed in making it as I did.

*****

Recipe – for the extra prize🙂

This adult birthday cake is two tiers cake, so I made two different cakes:

The first tier:

Ingredients:

6 eggs
6 tablespoons sugar
6 tablespoons ground walnuts
2 tablespoons flour
Orange juice

Directions:

1. Beat egg whites with sugar with a mixer.
2. Add egg yolks, flour, and ground walnuts and beat all ingredients well until combined.
3. Pour into the prepared square pan and bake in the preheated oven for about 20 min. or until a toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean.
4. When baked overflow it with orange juice.
5. Bake another layer out of the same ingredients.

Ingredients for the frosting:

300 grams ground walnuts
500 ml milk
200 grams butter
100 grams chocolate
4 egg yolks
4 tablespoons sugar
1 fresh orange
Egg whites

Directions:

1. Cook ground walnuts with milk, butter and little sugar to combine.
2. When the mixture is thick add little oil, chocolate, and previously beat egg yolks with sugar and orange juice.

The second tier

Ingredients:

10 egg yolks
300 grams sugar
300 grams ground walnuts

Directions:

1. Beat egg whites for about 2 minutes.
2. Add sugar and beat well
3. Add ground walnuts and beat all well.
4. Pour into the prepared square pan (smaller than for the first tier) and bake in the preheated oven on medium heat for about 30 minutes.
5. When baked cut the layer into two parts.

Ingredients for the frosting:

10 egg yolks
10 tablespoons sugar
100 grams chocolate
250 grams butter

Directions:

1. Beat egg yolks with sugar and cook on steam.
2. Add chocolate.
3. When the cream is cooked add butter and beat all well until combined.

Leave a Reply

